Is Hinduism a vegetarian religion?

Hindu Nonveg
Is Hinduism a vegetarian religion

Is Hinduism a vegetarian religion


1. Non vegetarianism in Hinduism

Hinduism is known for its firm stand towards non violence. But there is no such rule in this religion which insists strict abstinence from non vegetarian food. For those who perform religious activities and rituals at temples and households it is a rule not to have non vegetarian food as it provokes rajas (passionate and enraged) and tamo (chaotic and desirous) gunas. Those who have vedic knowledge are Brahmins and they need to stay peaceful while performing rituals and other auspicious deeds. There is a rule for Brahmins to stay away from non vegetarian food as Ayurveda says that we are what we eat.

Promoted Content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here